7th European Quilt-Triennial

14.02.2020 – 19.04.2020

The European Quilt Triennial was held for the seventh time in 2018. From more than 160 submissions, the international jury selected 41 works that reveal a broad spectrum of techniques, concepts and motifs and reflect the artists’ engagement with questions of time, world history or their own biographies.

The visual language moves between realistic interpretation and purely abstract composition. With a high quality of craftsmanship, the selected works reveal both the connection with textile traditions and the search for innovative forms of expression.

Once again, the 7th European Quilt Triennial is proof of the extraordinary level of contemporary artistic quilting. Artists from eleven European countries will be represented, including Judith Mundwiler from Switzerland, who has been honoured with the Doris Winter Memory Prize for her innovative strength and joy in experimenting. The award also went to the work “Nightmare” by the young quilter Malou Cecille van Draanen Glisman and the large-format work “Linear” by Urte Hanke.

A catalogue was published for the 7th European Quilt Triennial and is available in the museum shop. In addition, the Textile Museum St.Gallen organises a series of guided tours, workshops and museum talks during the exhibition.

7th European Quilt-Triennial 2018

Panel of judges: Elisabeth Brenner Remberg, Gabi Mett, Leslie Morgan, Cosabeth Parriaud, Kristine Scherer

Artists: Els van Baarle (NL), Regina Birk (D), Anne-Marie Brunner (CH), Christine Chester (UK), Yael David-Cohen (UK), Fenella Davies (UK), Malou Cecille van Draanen Glismann (D), Ingrid Eckert (D), Katriina Flensburg (SE), Pascale Goldenberg (D), Michaela Grigoleit (D), Gisela Hafer (D), Urte Hanke (D), Diana Harrison (UK), Jennifer Hollingdale (UK), Rosie James (UK),  Anneliese Jaros (AT), Barbara T. Kämpfer (CH), Trudy Kleinstein (CH), Susanne Klinke (D), Jutta Kohlbeck (D), Brigitte Kopp (D), Susie Koren (UK), Barbara Lange (D), Beatrice Lanter (CH), Marita Lappalainen (FI), Rita Merten (CH), Elisabeth Michellod-Dutheil (CH), Heidemarie Mönkemeyer (D), Gudrun Müller-Mollenhauer (D), Judith Mundwiler (CH), Elsbeth Nusser-Lampe (D), Margaret Ramsay (UK), Marie-Louise Rosselet (CH), Monika Sebert (D), Lucia Stacchetti (IT), Tiziana Tateo (IT), Cécile Trentini (CH), Irina Voronina (RU), Christel De Vrij (BE), Isabelle Wiessler (D)