Robes politiques – Women Power Fashion

19.03.2021 – 06.02.2022

50 years of voting rights for women in Switzerland: On the occasion of the anniversary, the textile museum presents costumes and accessories from the period from 1600 to the present day that symbolise women’s claim to power and female representation of power against a backdrop of changing society, politics and fashion.

The exhibition ‘Robes politiques’ focuses on the public perception of important women, whose appearance on the political stage then and now was and is met not only with applause, but often with criticism (of style), too.

Conceptually, the exhibition is theme-based in approach, without chronological ordering. The clothing of influential women is examined in six chapters from various viewpoints. British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher, First Lady Jacky Kennedy, Empress Sissi and the last Empress of France, Eugénie de Montijo, are represented. Swiss politicians such as Elisabeth Kopp, Doris Leuthard and Karin Keller-Sutter also show selected items of clothing from their private collections. 

Fifty textile objects illustrate the tension between femininity and a position of power, between scandal and idealisation, between populism and representation, demonstrating how clothing is deployed for strategic purposes. The specific examples from various centuries and countries reveal continuous elements, developments and changes.

Fragile beauty – The restoration of a ball gown attributed to the last Empress of France, Eugenie de Montijo

The exhibition is part of the cooperation “50 Years of Women’s Voting Rights – Exhibitions and more”

We would like to thank the Susanne and Martin Knechtli-Kradolfer Foundation SMKK, the Hans and Wilma Stutz Foundation, the Walther and Verena Spühl-Foundation and

           helvetia

Robes politiques – le pouvoir des femmes et la mode du pouvoir

19.03.2021 – 06.02.2022

Cinquantenaire du droit de vote des femmes en Suisse : À l’occasion de cet anniversaire, le Musée du Textile présente des vêtements et accessoires datant de 1600 à nos jours, symbolisant la revendication et la représentation féminines du pouvoir dans une société, un paysage politique et une mode en mutation.

L’exposition « Robes politiques » met l’accent sur la perception que le public a des femmes importantes, dont l’apparition et le style sur la scène politique, à l’époque comme aujourd’hui, ont été et continuent d’être non seulement accueillis par des applaudissements, mais aussi souvent par des critiques.

L’exposition propose une approche thématique sans ordre chronologique. En six volets, les vêtements de femmes influentes sont examinés sous différents angles. Le Premier ministre britannique Margaret Thatcher, la Première dame Jacky Kennedy, l’impératrice Sisi et la dernière impératrice de France, Eugénie de Montijo, sont représentées. Des personnalités politiques suisses telles qu’Elisabeth Kopp, Doris Leuthard et Karin Keller-Sutter montrent également une sélection de vêtements de leurs collections privées. 

Cinquante objets textiles illustrent les zones de tension entre féminité et position de pouvoir, scandale et idéalisation, popularité et représentation, et montrent l’utilisation stratégique du vêtement. Les exemples spécifiques de différents siècles et pays mettent en évidence des continuités, des évolutions et des changements. 

Fragile beauté – La restauration d’une robe de bal attribuée à la dernière impératrice de France, Eugénie de Montijo

L’exposition s’inscrit dans le cadre de la coopération « 50 ans de droit de vote des femmes – Expositions et autres »

Nous remercions la Fondation Susanne et Martin Knechtli-Kradolfer SMKK, la Fondation Hans et Wilma Stutz, la Fondation Walther et Verena Spühl ainsi que

           helvetia     

            Schwyzer-Winiker-Stiftung